• White Instagram Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon

© 2018 National Art School 

Dobell Drawing Prize #21

28 March – 25 May 2019

11am–5pm, Monday to Saturday

NAS Gallery, National Art School

Forbes Street Darlinghurst, NSW


Congratulations to Justine Varga who has won the Dobell Drawing Prize #21!

Comments from the Judge’s: “Drawing is a fundamental part of many visual art practices. The winner of the Dobell Drawing Prize #21 uses drawing in the most meaningful and sophisticated way. Her work is a distillation of so many components of our collective lives. Drawing plays a pivotal role in this artist’s exploration of us all. The winning work is a powerful, playful and sophisticated 21st century drawing and a deserved winner.”

Congratulations also to Tony Albert who was highly commended, “Highly commended goes to an artist who is relentlessly and skilfully re-writing dialogues about Australian histories. Drawing underpins his practice. Old Sins Cast Long Shadows uses the most simple drawing techniques to tell a formidably sophisticated story.”


Badra Aji (VIC), Tony Albert (QLD/NSW), Leonie Andrews (ACT), Suzanne Archer (NSW), Martin Bell (VIC), M. Bozzec (NSW), Michelle Caithness (VIC), Kristone Capistrano (NSW), Tom Carment (NSW), Tanya Chaitow (NSW), Ari Chand (NSW), Joshua Charadia (NSW), Matthew Clarke (VIC), Penny Coss (WA), Maryanne Coutts (NSW), Fiona Currey-Billyard (NSW) Dagmar Cyrulla (VIC), Madeleine Joy Dawes (VIC), Amy Dynan (NSW), Helen Eager (NSW), Yvonne East (NSW), Stephanie Eather (VIC), David Fairbairn (NSW), George Gittoes (NSW), Richard Goodwin (NSW), Kendal Heyes (NSW), Mark Hislop (VIC), Daniel Hollier (NSW),Pollyxenia Joannou (NSW), Alan Jones (NSW), Locust Jones (NSW), Alex Karaconji (NSW), Sonia Kurarra (WA), Hyun Hee Lee (NSW), Brooke Leigh (NSW), Ruark Lewis (NSW), Tanya Linney (NSW), Lily Mae Martin (VIC), Jonathan McBurnie (QLD), Noel McKenna (NSW), Peta Minnici (NSW), Damian Moss (NSW), Wendy Murray (NSW), Angus Nivison (NSW), Chris O’Doherty aka Reg Mombassa (NSW), Catherine O’Donnell (NSW), Toshiko Oiyama (NSW), Jenny Orchard (NSW), Becc Ország (VIC), Kerrie Poliness (VIC), Monica Rohan (QLD), Wendy Sharpe (NSW), Peter Solness (NSW), Kim Spooner (NSW), Luke Thurgate (SA), Justine Varga (NSW), Mirra Whale (NSW)